Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
C for Linux
I am studying C.

My book does not have the same explanation for Linux OS as I guess a Windows compiler.

So how can I get the same benefit from the book using Linux as if I had the same program the book is using to teach?

Or have you any ideas SF of a better C programming ebook specifically for Linux?

Example would be the book says:

Code:
cc hello.c

and this will produce:
Code:
a.out

And then it goes on to show this will produce the results

"Hello world"

But this doesnt happen at all

For Linux I have to type:
Code:
cc -c first.c
Code:
cc -o first first.c
Code:
./first

And thats after I write the code in the compiler and thats how I run the same thing... It would appear so anyways.
Certified Counselor
'*> PM here <*'
(01-03-2012, 01:03 PM)iDiDiT Wrote: I am studying C.

My book does not have the same explanation for Linux OS as I guess a Windows compiler.

So how can I get the same benefit from the book using Linux as if I had the same program the book is using to teach?

Or have you any ideas SF of a better C programming ebook specifically for Linux?

Example would be the book says:

Code:
cc hello.c

and this will produce:
Code:
a.out

And then it goes on to show this will produce the results

"Hello world"

But this doesnt happen at all

For Linux I have to type:
Code:
cc -c first.c
Code:
cc -o first first.c
Code:
./first

And thats after I write the code in the compiler and thats how I run the same thing... It would appear so anyways.

Are you looking to develop for Windows or Linux? Which are you wanting to learn specifically? Languages have option to work with more than just a Windows system, but that doesn't mean the code and setup will be the same.
Well it would definitely be my own PC so Linux. Its probably good to know both though, but I do not have a Windows set up. Only a virtual machine, which has no more space on the hardrive currently.