Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Be aware if you dualboot...
Hey guys. I've been dualbooting XP with ubuntu for over 6 months.
I've installed ubuntu using the windows installer (wubi.exe) and everything went fine.

But a few days ago, I wanted to install Ubuntu Netoook Remix onto my USB using the universal usb installer.
After selecting the .iso file, it asked me where to install the UNR.

To make long story short - I didn't notice that the installer selected the ubuntu partition instead of my USB. And because I installed Ubuntu into windows (using wubi.exe), it creatd two (or more?)
files on my Windows partition that had to do something with MBR (their names were like wubimbr and so.).
By selecting the ubuntu partition instead of the USB, the installer formatted my Ubuntu installation, but the MBR remained there.

On the next startup it said that NTLDR is missing. I was trying to fix this using the recovery console, but it couldn't detect my Windows installation due to damaged MBR (caused by the USB installer).

The same thing happened to me yesterday when I was installing Mint on my USB, so right now I'm reinstalling windows.

So guys, be aware when creating Live USB using the Universtal USB Installer and make sure you'll choose the right partition / device.

Maybe this is not related to GRUB Ubuntu installation, but be aware anyways.

Goes without saying to be honest.
To gloss over the location of your install instead of concentrating is crazy.
Normally i actually even write down the actual size and whatnot of a drive before i do any installs.
Because some installers cant read your drives name and all you have is lists of drives with space.
That said you still should have noticed it was not installing to the correct location.
Im sure most if not all linux distros offer warnings before you delete windows partitions?
The Rules!
FTW Forum <-- Home of the Damned! --> Join me On MM

(09-18-2010, 01:36 AM)DAMINK™ Wrote: Goes without saying to be honest.