Support Forums

Full Version: (American) HighSchool/Electives/Diploma/College [HELP]
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Ok, I'm currently a Freshman in High School. I'm wanting to Major in Computer Science when I get older.

Right now I'm in:
Algebra II
Spanish
English
World Geography
*Weight Lifting
Advanced Science

I have A's/B's and am doing fairly good for being in two advanced classes. (Science, and Algebra II is a Sophomore class)

Next year I'm wanting to further taking advanced classes because I know that they will help me and also I want to get a Commonwealth Diploma (its a special diploma in my state)

http://www.education.ky.gov/kde/instruct...iploma.htm

For it I must take AP classes and have 4 years of the same foreign language. Here is where the problem is.. I'm pretty sure I'm wanting to take these classes:

Advanced Geometry (Well above a Sophomore class)
Spanish II (Required for Commonwealth Diploma)
English II
World Geography II (Not sure if thats right, Don't matter anyway..)
Chemistry
Honors Biology (Pretty much an Advanced Class)

Now, the problem comes here, I know I have two advanced classes and thats great. But the problem is we only get two electives. One of mine has to go to Spanish II so I get the Diploma I want. Chemistry is what I want as my other one. Its a Junior class and I will be a Sophomore. That will let my take AP Chemistry in Junior year (and possibly give me a free elective my Senior year). But also at our School we have some Technology Electives that I feel I need to take because I want to major in Computer Science when I get out of High School. So I'm debating whether or not I should take Chemistry.