Support Forums

Full Version: Problem with Linux Mint 8 x64
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey guys.

So I just installed Mint 8, to test it out and write a review. But so far it hasn't been too good. I haven't install most of the drivers, like the graphics driver so at the moment my screen is fudged up.

For some weird reason, I am unable to download packages. It says connecting to mirror.optus.net/linuxmint/packages/ (my chosen mirror), but the IP for that address is apparently 1.0.0.0

I mean, I'm pretty new to linux, so I'm not sure how to change the IP? can anyone help out. I did a quick ping on the site, and I'm pretty sure it should be 211.29.132.60

Thanks, any help would be appreciated.
(01-01-2010, 05:52 PM)trilobyte- Wrote: [ -> ]Hey guys.

So I just installed Mint 8, to test it out and write a review. But so far it hasn't been too good. I haven't install most of the drivers, like the graphics driver so at the moment my screen is fudged up.

For some weird reason, I am unable to download packages. It says connecting to mirror.optus.net/linuxmint/packages/ (my chosen mirror), but the IP for that address is apparently 1.0.0.0

I mean, I'm pretty new to linux, so I'm not sure how to change the IP? can anyone help out. I did a quick ping on the site, and I'm pretty sure it should be 211.29.132.60

Thanks, any help would be appreciated.
I don't really know if I can help you or not..... could you post a screen-shot of the error?
For some strange reason, I went into terminal and wrote:
Code:
sudo apt-get install nvidia-glx-185
And that actually worked, so I now have my graphic card drivers.

After that I thought maybe it was just working again, but apparently not:

Thanks for the quick response, too.
(01-01-2010, 06:09 PM)trilobyte- Wrote: [ -> ]For some strange reason, I went into terminal and wrote:
Code:
sudo apt-get install nvidia-glx-185