Support Forums

Full Version: Help: SQL without phpmyadmin?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've been learning SQL through phpmyadmin, but I also want to see what it's like without phpmyadmin. However, I'm having some problems.
I have
Code:
-- phpMyAdmin SQL Dump
-- version 3.1.2deb1ubuntu0.2
-- http://www.phpmyadmin.net
--
-- Host: localhost
-- Generation Time: Dec 24, 2009 at 01:58 AM
-- Server version: 5.0.75
-- PHP Version: 5.2.6-3ubuntu4.4

SET SQL_MODE="NO_AUTO_VALUE_ON_ZERO";

--
-- Database: `mydomain`
--

-- --------------------------------------------------------

--
-- Table structure for table `people`
--

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `people` (
  `id` int(6) NOT NULL,
  `name` char(100) NOT NULL,
  `telephone` char(50) NOT NULL,
  `birthday` char(50) NOT NULL
) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1;

--
-- Dumping data for table `people`
--

INSERT INTO `people` (`id`, `name`, `telephone`, `birthday`) VALUES
(100100, 'ross', '222 222 222', '3 january'),
(200200, 'John', '999 999 999', '19 may'),
(300300, 'jane', '888 888 888', '19 july');

saved into Test.sql

I want to see my chart or some sort of result in my browser, how do I do this. I've already tried putting it in /var/www/. However, that didn't work, it only displayed Test.sql in plain text.
You'll need to write an PHP code for that, first you'll need to connect to the database and then fetch resuls... and show them.

PHP Code:
<?php

$db 
= array(
    
'host' => 'localhost'// your host
    
'user' => 'root',   //username
    
'pass' => '',       //password
    
'base' => 'test' //database name not table
);


// connecting to the database
if($connect mysql_connect($db['host'], $db['user'], $db['pass'])) {
    
// selecting the database
    
if(!$sel mysql_select_db($db['base'])) {
        die(
"Connection failed..<br />".mysql_error());
    }
}

//sql query string
$sql "SELECT * FROM `people`";
//execute sql query
if(!$query mysql_query($sql)) {
    die(
mysql_error()); // die and show error
}

//if mysql_num_rows returns 0 there isn't anything in the table
if(mysql_num_rows($query) <= 0) {
    die(
"There are no entries in the database");
}

//fetch result from the query
while($rows mysql_fetch_array($query)) {
    echo 
$rows['id']." : ".$rows['name']." : ".$rows['telephone']." : ".$rows['birthday']."<br />";
}


//close connection
mysql_cl($connect);

?>
(12-24-2009, 07:46 AM)Master of The Universe Wrote: [ -> ]You'll need to write an PHP code for that, first you'll need to connect to the database and then fetch resuls... and show them.

PHP Code:
<?php

$db 
= array(
    
'host' => 'localhost'// your host
    
'user' => 'root',   //username
    
'pass' => '',       //password
    
'base' => 'test' //database name not table
);


// connecting to the database
if($connect mysql_connect($db['host'], $db['user'], $db['pass'])) {
    
// selecting the database
    
if(!$sel mysql_select_db($db['base'])) {
        die(
"Connection failed..<br />".mysql_error());
    }
}

//sql query string
$sql "SELECT * FROM `people`";
//execute sql query
if(!$query mysql_query($sql)) {
    die(
mysql_error()); // die and show error
}

//if mysql_num_rows returns 0 there isn't anything in the table
if(mysql_num_rows($query) <= 0) {
    die(
"There are no entries in the database");
}

//fetch result from the query
while($rows mysql_fetch_array($query)) {
    echo 
$rows['id']." : ".$rows['name']." : ".$rows['telephone']." : ".$rows['birthday']."<br />";
}


//close connection
mysql_cl($connect);

?>

Thanks, this worked great. Only thing is I think mysql_cl() should be mysql_close()
(12-24-2009, 12:28 PM)nevets04 Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks, this worked great. Only thing is I think mysql_cl() should be mysql_close()

Yeah you're right, sorry about that.
It is mysql_close();
Can you make it write the names of each row on top like:

| id | name | telephone | birthday |
(12-24-2009, 12:38 PM)nevets04 Wrote: [ -> ]Can you make it write the names of each row on top like:

| id | name | telephone | birthday |

Just put this right before the while function.

PHP Code:
echo "id | name | telephone | birthday <br />"

(12-24-2009, 12:44 PM)Master of The Universe Wrote: [ -> ]Just put this right before the while function.

PHP Code:
echo "id | name | telephone | birthday <br />"


K, thanks
nevets, you should also look into the mysql command line. It displays your tables in the fashion you described and it allows you to enter sql queries one-by-one.