Support Forums

Full Version: Some questions about security.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello. I'm totally new to web administration, so bear with me. I have a question; when you use a firewall to protect your website, is the firewall installed on your server, or what? I don't really understand the whole concept, so if you could briefly explain or point me to an article, that'd be great.

Secondly, is there anything in particular I should know to prevent my websites against exploits? I have Acunetix vulnerability scanner, and once my website is up and running, I plan to scan it with that and patch any vulnerabilities. I also plan to make sure all of my code, including javascript, is validated with no errors or warnings. I dunno if that could prevent against any vulnerabilities, but I'm sure it can't hurt.

See, I know about PC security, but not web security. So, if there're any decent articles or websites on this subject, I'd love to see them. Any tips you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

I also have Fallen's DDoS mitigation script that he posted, but I'm not sure this will be enough. I don't see a particular reason why my website, which is for a friend's small business, would be targetted. I'm sure that the only people who would attack our website would be script kiddies who get pleasure out of it, and not well known hacking groups, so that's a plus. Still, I'd like to be able to sleep at night knowing that I'm doing all I can to keep the website secure.

We haven't picked a hosting yet, and I don't know how that facotrs into the equation. I assume we will use Apache as our server, but I haven't explored other possibilities. Of course I'll want to update all of my software (php versions, apache version, ect), but I know that there's a lot I'm missing, so if you could fill in the blanks, I'd be grateful.

Thank you.