Support Forums

Full Version: Good Linux Distros
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
What is a good Linux distro to use and what might I use it for?

Keep these things in mind while thinking of a good one
I develop in multiple languages... In particular I code in C++, C, PHP, CSS, HTML, and VB. In order from most to least.
I am a webmaster and own a forum, so it must have quick internet access.
Preferably able to run Skype, MSN Messenger, and AIM.

Thanks in advanced guys! I hope to see some of the replies Smile
Any would work, you can run programs with Wine, or a paid program like CrossOver. However if you're beginning, I would recommend Linux Mint. It's great, minimal, it looks nice, and is very easy to use, but very customizable.
I have used Linux Mint and Ubuntu already. It just isn't what I am looking for. Any other ideas on what a good distro might be?
(01-11-2012, 03:06 PM)AlbinoShadow Wrote: [ -> ]I have used Linux Mint and Ubuntu already. It just isn't what I am looking for. Any other ideas on what a good distro might be?

What are you looking for then? Because those are Good distro's. Unless you're very familiar with Linux I would also recommend Arch, but it's not for beginners, just as a warning.
You can try Fedora or CentOS.

If you want to manage your network, I found a really great one the other day called ClearOS. I don't think this allows you to use the computer as a desktop computer though. I haven't looked into it much as I'm waiting on a computer to arrive with a second NIC so I can run it in "Gateway mode".
(01-11-2012, 05:32 PM)AceInfinity Wrote: [ -> ]What are you looking for then? Because those are Good distro's. Unless you're very familiar with Linux I would also recommend Arch, but it's not for beginners, just as a warning.

Why? I don't think Arch is so difficult to use.