Support Forums

Full Version: I'm a complete beginner.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I'm not asking for help in specific areas, just giving a list of things I need to know. I will take the answers and try to get to learning.

What languages are recommended?

PHP/HTML?

Is Apache the webserver? Is that what I need?

MySQL is that a language also, or something else?

If I've left anything out please enlighten me as to the exact things I should seek to learn in order to develop a website/forum. I'm not asking for a handout I just need a little guidance.
HTML, CSS, and if you are building a forum PHP. I'll edit this later with some links.

EDIT:

Action Plan
1. Learn HTML - Use http://www.w3schools.com/html/DEFAULT.asp
2. Learn CSS - Use W3schools.com for this too, or get the book Sams Teach Yourself CSS In 10 Minutes

Ok now you should have the skills to create a GOOD, PROFESSIONAL looking website. So, now you should create a website.

EDIT 2: http://w3schools.com/sql/default.asp here you will get a description of SQL (MySQL, etc)
3. Learn JavaScript and add some nice interactive features to your website - Use http://www.w3schools.com/JS/default.asp

Now you should have a really nice looking website, with some nice interactive features, once you get some users you will want to think about learning the following.

4. Learn AJAX to create some nice web applications - Use http://www.w3schools.com/ajax/default.asp
5. Learn PHP and create a forum for your website - Use http://www.w3schools.com/PHP/DEfaULT.asP

Now you have a successful website, congrats. You will be able to sell ad space, sell products or whatever on your website and you will be able to make a nice income.