Support Forums

Full Version: Considering Linux...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Okay so I have installed Linux on my Dell. It's taken a little bit to get used to it, but it's okay. I might go all out Linux as my primary but I do have some questions.

Windows 7 Vs. Linux? Which is better suited for a student with a powerful laptop?

Does it have a well made Word Processor?

What exactly makes Linux as good as or maybe better than Windows?

Is it easy to use on the go?

Like I said above... I'm a student so I'm pretty concerned about the word processor thing, but other than that any OS is fair game.

Thanks.
Edit: Also I forgot one more thing... I will be doing quite a bit of coding later on so I want to ask if anyone else has experience coding and running programs on Linux. Also does Microsoft Visual Studio 2008 work on Linux?
Windows 7 Vs. Linux? Which is better suited for a student with a powerful laptop?
Which Version of seven?
Also it depends what else you need to do. For word processing/msn/ Linux wil
Does it have a well made Word Processor?
A few to select from, But i like Open Office.
What exactly makes Linux as good as or maybe better than Windows?
Freedom for me. I can create destroy or remake anything, and most people don't mind.
Is it easy to use on the go?
Very. And simple once your used to it.
Edit: Also I forgot one more thing... I will be doing quite a bit of coding later on so I want to ask if anyone else has experience coding and running programs on Linux. Also does Microsoft Visual Studio 2008 work on Linux?
VB doesn't work well. http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.ph...on&iId=892 But i'm sure there is an alternative.
It really depends on preference. If you're fine with the lack of available programs for Linux because you just LOVE Linux and the freedom that comes with it. Use Linux.