Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tips on making your app look good
Well I am a pretty good vb coder. So one thing I learned over a year is that looks can sell. If your app looks good to the eye, it looks more professional, but if you have buttons every were, un-even sizes of similar objects it can look really bad.

Some things I plan on including:
  • Form Border
  • Spacing/ Sizing
  • Dotnetbar
  • Skin Crafter
  • MouseEnter/Leave
  • vb themes
  • Extras

Well there are a variety of techniques to make your application look good. So I am going to keep this thread updated even if it dies, unlike my last one. So for now I am going to start off with borders of the form.

Borders

Borders on the form can make an application look totally different.
Well to get started lets define what a border is and the different types:

A border is line that surrounds your client rectangle.
It looks like a bluish line.
So there are different kinds of these:
  • None
  • FixedSingle
  • Fixed3D
  • FixedDialog
  • Sizable
  • FixedToolWindow
  • SizableToolWindow

See here is a brief explanation of each one:

None- This is when the form has no border, just the client rectangle. Some things to think about when using a border less form is that there is no exit, maximize, movable, or minimize-able options. These can all be self added. Also these forms have very nice looks when used as a second form, like a credits or help form. These are my personal favorite since it is so customizable. I will go over that a little bit later.
[Image: 6c80555258d4f37db17da096250bfb49.png]

FixedSingle- This is when the form can't be resized, also there is only a single line for a border. For this tutorial I made the inside clear so you guys can see the inside better:
[Image: 8682e38d5885476b8e8b867ddb8996cd.png]

Fixed3D- This cannot be resized either, but as you can see in the picture the border is a little bit bigger and there is a inner drop shadow onto the
client rectangle.