Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Best Operating System
Ok when you look into hosting you start to see operating systems like CentOS, Fedora, Ubuntu and many more. I'm new to this so wanted to know what's the most reliable, easiest to manage?

If you can explain why you choose whatever you choose that'll be nice as well Smile

Thanks Smile
puppy Linux is the easiest imo. Thats what I used for mine.
[Image: fade-Signature.gif]
-Thanks Extasey Thumbsup
It depends, are you talking about Paid hosting?

Most paid hosting doesn't make you actually manage a server from the shell. They usually give you a cPanel. Mine doesn't say exactly what UNIX, it just says UNIX.

But if you're talking about your own home server, then I reccomend Fedora. My mate and I have one that he has at his house in Tassie, it's great for us to share stuff, as I ive on the otherside of the country.
At the top will be the same place you hang from.
(01-12-2010, 03:12 AM)trilobyte- Wrote: It depends, are you talking about Paid hosting?

Most paid hosting doesn't make you actually manage a server from the shell. They usually give you a cPanel. Mine doesn't say exactly what UNIX, it just says UNIX.

But if you're talking about your own home server, then I reccomend Fedora. My mate and I have one that he has at his house in Tassie, it's great for us to share stuff, as I ive on the otherside of the country.

All servers will do that, that isn't a good reason why Fedora is better than anything else.

Anyway, I recommend FreeBSD; I've tried many operating systems 'live' and FreeBSD has been the easiest and it's very secure by default. If you have to go with Linux...go with CentOS; It's just like RHEL (Red Hat) but without the branding and support, and unless you're doing something 'mission-critical' you won't need the support...you have Google and IRC.
[Completely Honest. Seriously.]

Protip: Anonymous Reputation Points are for Pussies