Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Life changes
Hello,

I'm new and never posted here... Just looking for some general emotional support and kind advice. I have family and friends to talk to, but some of what I'm dealing with now I just want to talk to someone I don't know. I'm dealing with some major life changes right now, some good and some bad/hard. I graduated with my Masters in December and started my first full time professional position a few weeks ago. Since graduating, I've moved home to Wisconsin with my parents to save money.  I was living in Washington for grad school and had gone to undergrad in Wisconsin a few hours away. Originally moving in with my parents was also the plan because my long term boyfriend of 5 years was going to move from Australia to live with us; while he looked for a job that would sponsor him, we would save money living with my mom and dad. My parents are two of my best friends and my partner has always gotten on with them quite well too.  We had been doing long distance with regular visits for a couple of years and before then had lived together or lived a couple hours apart. We split up about 2 months ago. It was mostly mutual, but I'm still devastated over the break up and loss. We had been serious for pretty much the entire relationship and my life was planned a thought out around him and our life together. I'm still trying to pick up the pieces of what my life without him looks like.  The new job is going fairly well- it's difficult and challenging but I have some supportive coworkers and it's in a setting that I enjoy. Unfortunately, they've not been able to give me full time hours, so I'm barely going in half time right now. I feel like I tend t awake up in the week days kind of with a general sense of dread or sadness, but I think that's in part just stemming from not having a full routine/schedule of work hours and still easing in to the idea of a full time, professional job.