Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
[Narrative Story] Empty Creatures
I wrote this narrative as an assignment for one of my courses last year. This is my first time sharing it to the public. Let me know what you think! Everything in this piece is real.

Empty Creatures

After sitting through another dull hour of my professor droning on about college algebra, I scurried out the door and down the stairs to my safe haven: the computer club’s hangout room. In this low-lit cave of a room, I was normally completely oblivious to the bipolar Miami weather outside. I quickly scanned the room for an open computer, said my hellos to others as my feet shuffled across the room, and sat down on one of the many blue, comfortably-padded swivel chairs. I grasped the mouse, the rectangular screen awakening and casting an eerie glow in my face. In just a matter of moments, my mind was put on auto-pilot and I was completely engulfed in a game. I didn't even notice the others in the room staring at me as I murmured at the computer in rage, a frenzy in my eyes. The other players’ lack of skill and cheap tactics were easily caught on and I began to win the first game with ease. Just as I was about to shove my first victory up the asses of the enemy, I was snapped out of the game as lightning struck near the window. The thunder that followed nearly shook the floor beneath my feet. I curiously lifted one of the window blinds and peeked outside, only to see what appeared to be a middle-aged woman sobbing and posting up tribute photos of a young girl with the letters R, I, and P written in black ink. In that instant, I was no longer that 18-year-old college student solemnly staring out of a window, but rather, I was that 15-year-old girl in 2010 who felt the full weight of the world on her shoulders.