Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to run a forum [Personal Experience]
Well, I've owned quite a lot of forums in my time and there's quite a lot of pointers I've picked up and I thought I'll share with Support Forums, this is my first time posting this so let's go.

CONTENT
Now if you're going to open a forum you must remember you need a lot of content to attract you're members, now I'm not saying you must go around posting random stuff like "Oh my god! This is my random stuff for more content", I'm saying stuff like 'tutorials, sharing, images, graphics, updates', the only reason I wanted to start of with this is because most forum owners normally just make the forum and throw loads of categories up and then not post in them and expect users to do it all.

CATEGORIES

Now this also falls into the "CONTENT" section of the thread but I thought I'll make a new bit for this since this is the #2 most common 'fail' of a forum, now if your a new forum around the internet and you want to attract users to the forum then you might as well just have one forum with a load of content since most users are "EXPECTING" loads of content. Now having loads of categories but still so little content that'll make you're forum look tacky and nonprofessional.

THEME

Now this probably is the most important piece of a forum since this represents the forums unique identity, now if you've got all the above points but a tacky THEME then you'll not get many users since the theme is what they stare at most, now if you're good at theme making I'll advise you make a theme.

RANDOM STAFF HIRINGS