Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Career help.
Hello SF.

After a long mental debate, I've decided that I want to be an interpreter & translator of natural languages, as opposed to a web designer, which I had previously considered doing. Unfortunately, I cannot find much documentation online as to how I should go about doing this.

You see, I'm a fluent speaker of self-taught Swedish, which is rather irrelevant considering it's only spoken by about nine million people in a condensed region (Scandinavia). However, I think it's somewhat relevant in that learning a language has basic processes or "stages", no matter which language you are learning.

Obviously, the apparent languages to learn would be major ones, such as Russian, Arabic, Chinese, or Spanish. Right now, I am learning Dutch, but I plan on switching to German for practicality's sake.

The university which I plan to attend offers MANY languages, including ones as dead as Cherokee, Creek, Seminole, ect, and other not so popular ones, such as Finnish and Czech. It obviously offers major ones such as Mandarin, Japanese, Russian, German, ect.
  • Which language(s) should I take at university?
  • Are there any critical classes I need to take NOT related to languages?
  • Should I major in a language, or something else?
  • Should I minor in a language, or business?
  • Do you think that I could be successful in this field, or would it be too difficult to get a job in?

Thanks for taking the time to read this.
Learn everything you can about languages. Take every class that has remotely anything to do with a language.

Then become an archaeologist.
[Image: MreGSXsigcopy.png]

Just an idea but, you should study FRENCH xD, I think it may really help you.
I think it's a good language to learn because:
-it's a beautiful language
-France and Quebec talk it
-May be of use in different situations

That's why!, Hope I helped

Cheers
[Image: f_pgfbb4em_bde9974.png]