Support Forums
Linux vs. Windows? - Printable Version

+- Support Forums (https://www.supportforums.net)
+-- Forum: Categories (https://www.supportforums.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=87)
+--- Forum: Webmaster Support (https://www.supportforums.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=36)
+---- Forum: Web Hosting (https://www.supportforums.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=40)
+---- Thread: Linux vs. Windows? (/showthread.php?tid=3274)

Pages: 1 2

Linux vs. Windows? - Elektrisk - 12-02-2009

Hi.
I'm going to buy website hosting soon, and am not certain whether I should just go with Linux, or what. I have limited experience with Linux, but I keep reading that Linux is a better choice overall as opposed to Windows. I don't plan to use ASP or Frontpage, so should I just go with Linux? I'm at a loss here. Thanks.

RE: Linux vs. Windows? - Grizzly - 12-02-2009

Just use Linux. Especially because you're only going to need shared hosting starting out, you don't need any knowledge about server management.

RE: Linux vs. Windows? - manipulate - 12-03-2009

If you're just going for shared hosting the OS shouldn't matter to you anyway, and as far as I see it Windows should only be used if you want to use some Windows-ish dynamic stuff (ASP.etc), and ASP is stupid anyway so just stick with Linux

RE: Linux vs. Windows? - Dutchcoffee - 12-06-2009

I tried Windows hosting once, and didn't really like it as there isn't much supported for it. I later switched to Linux hosting, and was happy of the change because I was able to use some more features.

RE: Linux vs. Windows? - Gone - 12-06-2009