Support Forums

Full Version: Money money money (long)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi guys,

Got a bit of a problem with my financial situation. I know there is a finance forum here, but it's more the emotional side of my situation that I wanted advice on as I have some tough decisions to make. I'm just venting really but if anyone happens to have any suggestions then feel free to put them forward.

I work as a County Court Advocate. Although my earnings are not bad for someone just cutting their teeth in the advocacy world, there are a lot of expenses that I have to cover and I'm finding that what I earn just doesn't go far enough. In particular, I'm finding that my friends seem to keep having birthdays, weddings and stag parties and my bank account is being bled dry. I like to be sociable and see my friends but I just can't afford to keep doing this, and the uncomfortable conclusion I've reached is that I may have to just cut off from my old university friends completely as I only see them on these special occasions. They're not my only big source of expenditure by any means, but regrettably they're the only one over which I have control.

Has anyone else here had to cut old friends off like that?
How about just set a budget. If you dont have the money to buy a gift, then try finding a less expensive option. From the sound of it, it seems like your paying for the event. If that's the case then I would advise finding different friends.