Support Forums

Full Version: Bad times but with some silver lining - What would you do?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've got a few problems, I'm a type 1 diabetic with depression and insomnia issues. I won't go too in depth, but here's what's going on in my life.

Two years ago I lived in America, loved it and was having a great time, controlling my diabetes easily at the same time. This was the year that I graduated from high school - but hanging over my head was the fact that my family was moving to England the day after my graduation. And that I would have to go to a British University. (I have dual citizenship and lived in the US for 12 years - since I was 6).

I had to break up with my long long term girlfriend and leave the closest friends I've ever had (Still my closest friends, talk to them daily). Anyway long story short, I hate it over here, I'm depressed, now have insomnia and for the most part my diabetes has run amok for the last 6+ months. It hasn't been a good time. I dragged through the first year, and then went to america for the entire 3 month summer, which pulled me out of depression for those months. And now I'm back here depressed out of my mind and more or less failing in University.

Silver lining? I just got accepted into a much better University closer to my family but will have to start from year one. (I'm in year one now, I did a foundation course my first year in england). BUT I also have a shot at moving back to america. So long as my application goes through and I can somehow get instate tuition. This is because I finally told my family how I feel, and they agreed to letting me go if I could. However they would rather I stay for another year before transferring.