Support Forums

Full Version: Ask me anything
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Ask me anything along the lines of your furry friends. I have a ton of experiences and I've been volunteering at an animal shelter for 2 years. There's not may things that I cant answer.

Don't be afraid to ask Smile
ok serious question.. i have 2 African claw frogs & I can't keep them any more.
I posted on craigslist for someone to have them for free & no one response.
I don't want to take them back to the pet store because chances are they will die.
I know you stated you work in a animal shelter & IM talking about amphibians.
But I was thinking..can I let them loose in the Hudson river since I live in manhattan NYC.
will they be able to survive? They are fully aquatic frogs as well.
(11-28-2011, 09:12 PM)WTC Wrote: [ -> ]ok serious question.. i have 2 African claw frogs & I can't keep them any more.
I posted on craigslist for someone to have them for free & no one response.
I don't want to take them back to the pet store because chances are they will die.
I know you stated you work in a animal shelter & IM talking about amphibians.
But I was thinking..can I let them loose in the Hudson river since I live in manhattan NYC.
will they be able to survive? They are fully aquatic frogs as well.
No, they will most certainty die if dumped into the Hudson. I live fairly close and the river is polluted beyond belief. You have some options:
  • Keep them.
    This will assure their health and life.

• Put them down.
    Worst case scenario. Don't even think about it.

• Pet store.
    If you have to then give them back to the pet store. They will have a better chance there rather then neglect. (I'm not saying you do.)

You are in a very hard position and I understand. Try to keep them or look for a lover of the species and donate it to them.

-Matt