Support Forums

Full Version: :/
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Let's start off with, I'm Indian. Kind of like Asian, but not quite. Still bad.

My parents, like all Asian parents, have enormous expectations for me.

They've been getting pissed at me for making 91s, etc, because this is my first year of high school and I've always made 98s, etc.

They make me feel like crap and my mom just screamed at me because I made an 86 on a test. The test affected my grade by 0.3 points and kept me at the same rounded grade.

I'm always feeling like crap now and feel like I can't do anything good because I go to my brother's and sister's alma mater and all of the teachers loved them, so they don't want me to screw it up for them.

Please don't flame...
It's okay, we seriously all go through this. Most people say it's common and it's just a phase that teenagers go through. It's the major time of your life when you get pushed the hardest to take responsibilities and do your best in school. I'm going to honestly say that you will be thanking your parents like crazy later on when you get accepted by one of the best universities.

For me, I've always had a ton of stress. For one, I'm trying to get major scholarships and other ways to decrease my debt I'll most likely get by going to college, and I'll end up having to pay it off eventually. I don't have the money at all to pay my way without scholarships to college, so I have to get in as many things as I can. I have to stay in band until my senior year and I'll probably end up getting some community service time in here coming soon. You should sincerely be thankful for them pushing you, it's extremely helpful. I know I'm probably sounding like ever other person saying it's normal, when it's not.