Support Forums

Full Version: Need some help I think?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Not sure if this is the right section but whatever...

I've just started my degree course and already I'm really struggling to keep on top of all my work.
I've never been an academic kind of guy and through all my life I've struggled with writing tasks, such as essays and other assignments which is why I ditched school and moved onto doing Art & Design.. Now I'm doing my degree though and half of the course relies on written work such as scripts, evaluations, research etc..

I'm worried that I may not be able to keep on top of everything and fail.. The deadlines for work are really short and I'm not used to working at such a fast pace.

I have ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder) which doesn't help when my tutor gives us tasks to do as I often miss important bits of information.

I basically just need some guidance in dealing with it all.
I completely understand the feeling of being overwhelmed by work, my mum recently went back to University to study and she's getting really stressed about the massive workload and she's in her second year.

I can appreciate that you feel that there is no way you can keep on top of the work but think about it logically, they wouldn't give you the work if it wasn't possible to complete in the alloted time.

You need to create a schedule. Assign periods of the day, say study five hours a day broken down into time slots. That way between studying you can take your time off your work and relax a bit.

To begin with it will be hard but if you stick with it you can easily slip into a routine.

p.s. Maybe this should of been in the academic section.